Through some inner impulse, I possess a desire to express myself to the world. My thoughts are not at home within my own head. My thoughts want to break free, they want to be heard. Speech is my greatest joy, silence my greatest pain. I bear the seeds of new ideas, and it is my duty to myself to plant these seeds in the earth. To cultivate them into something greater.

No man wishes to remain silent and unheard. No man is content with leaving his thoughts to wither and die in his head. We all want to be heard. We all want our thoughts to live even after we die. It’s why we write, to create a permanent record of our thoughts, immortalized in words. It’s why we argue, why we protest. Why we defend our values and beliefs. But what compels this? What inner nature gives us this desire to speak and need to be heard?

This inner nature is the driving force behind all human interaction. Behind all speech and writing. Without it, man would be silent and ignorant, no different from any primitive animal. For this, I call this nature a virtue. For it brings education and opens the door to truth. It enables discourse, which is the process by which we discern and scrutinize truth. It enables complex thought, for thought cannot truly exist in complexity without speech and writing. It brings the greatest ideas out from the minds of great men and into the world of all men, so those ideas do not die with the creator. It compels us to think of ideas in the first place, for we feel we must create ideas to give to the world. By the will of this nature, man evolves. Civilizations are built upon this nature, and advance by its force.

It is this inner nature that I gladly obey. This I hold up as my greatest virtue. I publish to this blog because my nature compels me to. It is my purpose in life to share my thoughts and ideas. Modern technology makes it so much easier to do this, and so I take advantage of this great tool. To all who wish to listen, hear my thoughts!

Leave a Reply

